Bad Environmental Science

The Law of Unintended Consequences Strikes Again

Possibly not what Lewisham Council intended

Like many local authority housing blocks we have a recycling bin. We used to have three but two were taken away, with the result that the remaining one is permanently overflowing. I contacted Lewisham Council’s waste disposal team to point out the problem.

I was told that the other two bins were removed because wrong stuff, such as food scraps, was being put in them. I concede that this is a problem but still left me in the position that I have nowhere to put my recycling so it winds up in the general waste which I presume is not what they want. I therefore suggested that they issue me with my own recycling box, which I could put out on collection day.

I was told “we no longer issue those.”

Fucking marvelous.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Bad Environmental Science”

  1. Dave Says:

    In Oxford, there are also food waste bins, so people don’t mix those in, and the dustmen refuse to empty recycling bins with obvious non-recylable refuse.

    In Lewisham, contact councillor Darren Johnson, the Green Party councillor, to get this changed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

